Before starting this class, I had very limited knowledge of technology usage in the classroom. Sure, I already knew how to use Google Docs and Slides, and how to use some applications available on both Microsoft and Mac for video editing, but what I could not do was contextualize this in my classroom. The most I was ever using it for was to show my students some pictures, or project some notes for them to write down. Sometimes I used it to show quick clips from YouTube.

Now, I can proudly say that I have become a more savvy technology user, both in my personal life and especially in my professional life. This class introduced me to so many new technology apps that I never even knew existed or were possible. It even opened up for me some new search terms that I can now type into a search engine to continue to find even more resources out there on the Internet that can be used in my future classroom for my future students. I have learned about the existence of PearDeck and how useful it can be for engaging all students, and even got to use it in my classroom to teach my students about two poems, “Dulce et Decorum Est” by Wilfred Owen, and “The Hero” by Siegfried Sassoon.

Here are links to those two PearDecks, as well as some samples of student work from these PearDecks!

Dulce et Decorum Est

dulce answers edited

The Hero

Using these technologies help me access my students’ various strengths, and enable me to connect these strengths to the work that we do in the classroom. I look forward to incorporating more technology into my lesson plans in the future!

Leave a Reply

